Approaching the Big One

May 23, 2017 § Leave a comment

This year I turn 50 years old, and I am pretty excited about this, mainly because I’ve never been this old before and it’s gonna be great!  Since I’ve now accomplished the goal of Rim to Rim, my new goal is to ride my new mountain bike 50 miles on my 50th birthday.   My route is set and now I just have to do it.

20170523_115152

May 23, 2017

I began the first step to my goal…5 miles up the canyon to a campground.  Yikes!  Uphill was tough today.  I’ve never attempted to ride a bike up here before.  So, I am now contemplating the wisdom of jumping on a bike with somewhat sore legs from Grand Canyon.  I had time to recover before I went back to work…I may have just screwed that one up.  🙂

***UPDATE:  June 28, 2017***

I’ve been on a few rides since the last post in May.  I’ve been hiking and busy with a work related training program. Unfortunately,  we were informed that the final technical evaluation is the afternoon of my birthday.  I felt a bit shot down.   So, I’ve had to put the 50 miles on the 50th birthday aside, for now.   Check back.  There will be a post about a reaching that goal successfully.  I promise!

20170523_11523220170523_115210

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Approaching the Big One at snuggie2u.

meta

